garden—pleasure Contributors

December 2, 2019 – February 8, 2020


This project is an inhabitable scenography of seven ‘figures’ sustaining a gathering space and a framework for engagement with the New Haven arts community. Over the course of two months, collaborating artists and community partners will develop the space through a series of treatments in, of, and around this analogical garden. The cast of participants includes local art and educational organizations, students in the Yale Schools of Music, Drama, Art, and Architecture, graduates of these programs, and other independent contributors with connections to New Haven. Between events and performances, the scenography and seasonal treatments rest, inviting visitors to shed normative gallery behavior and explore, inhabit, rearrange, and play with the flexible elements of the garden. The piece is designed and organized by Daniel Glick-Unterman (M.Arch ’17), Ian Donaldson (M.Arch ’18), and Carr Chadwick (MFA ’17).

garden—pleasure Contributors

Aiv Rubino
Alteronce Gumby
Bek Andersen
Camille Altay
Carr Chadwick
Daniel Schlosberg
Derek G. Larson
Dwight Portocarrero
Dymin Ellis
Jesse Limbacher
Kate Hawkins
Kenneth Joseph
Max Menschen
Maria Romero
Martin Elliott
Melanie Moser (Mlle NOISE)
Precious Musa
Sara Emsaki
Seth Thompson
Syd Bell
Sydney Lemmon
Toto Kisaku
Will Wheeler
Yo-E Ryou

Community Partners

Artspace New Haven
Showmotion Inc.
St. Luke’s Steel Band
St. Martin de Porres Academy Orchestra

Exhibition credits

The first version of garden—pleasure was commissioned by Artpsace, Inc, for City-Wide Open Studios with support from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Connecticut Office of the Arts and Yale University.

The Yale School of Architecture’s exhibition program is supported in part by the Fred Koetter Exhibitions Fund, the James Wilder Green Dean’s Resource Fund, the Kibel Foundation Fund, the Nitkin Family Dean’s Discretionary Fund in Architecture, the Pickard Chilton Dean’s Resource Fund, the Paul Rudolph Lectureship Fund, the Robert A.M. Stern Fund, and the School of Architecture Exhibitions Fund.